Tuesday, November 2, 2010

Revelation 16 - The Seven Bowls

by Katrina

LINK: Revelation 16

In this chapter, the seven bowls of God's wrath are poured out.

first bowl - loathsome and malignant sores upon those who had the mark of the beast and worshiped the image

second bowl - waters turn to blood and all living creatures of the sea died

third bowl - freshwater turned to blood

fourth bowl - the heat of the sun increased so as to scorch man on the earth

fifth bowl - darkness on the kingdom of the beast

sixth bowl - the Euphrates River dried up

seventh bowl - natural disasters cause widespread destruction

Along with the sixth bowl, there is a gathering of forces for a great war. They gather in a place called Har-Magedon in Hebrew. This is where we get the word "Armageddon." "Har-Magedon" or "har Megiddo" means the hill of Megiddo. Megiddo means "place of troops." This particular place is also known as the Plain of Esdraelon and the Valley of Jezreel. The area is about fourteen miles wide and twenty miles long. Napoleon called it "the most natural battlefield of the whole earth."

Once again, man's response to these cataclysmic events is to blaspheme God. When confronted with God's magnificent power, they do not fear him. When given repeated opportunity to repent, they do not. What a sad end.

This makes me want to help people understand their condition in sin and their position before a holy God! Our God is one of compassion, waiting and giving many opportunities for man to repent.

Pray for those you know who are unsaved and ask God to lead you in sharing the good news of Jesus with them!
Post a Comment